Bild
vifabio » About vifabio » Special subject collection

Special subject collection

The University Library Johann Christian Senckenberg, Frankfurt am Main, looks after the special subject collection Biology, Botany, Zoology. It collects literature relevant to research worldwide. Altogether, 3500 biological journals are currently held and almost as many monographs are purchased annually.

The system of the German Research Foundation (DFG) sponsored special subject collections (SSG) ensures the trans-regional supply of scientific literature in Germany. The principle of co-operative acquisition and supply, that is still valid today, was a reaction to the financial needs of the libraries after the Second World War and was established with the first acquisition guidelines in 1949.

In part, the subject specialisation reaches further back. The Senckenberg library, one of the two forerunner libraries of the Frankfurt University Library, already housed the special subject area "Descriptive Sciences" during the Weimar Republic period.

According to a new approach by the DFG, the system of special subject collections will be transferred into a system of "Scientific Information Services" within the next few years. The special subject collection Biology, Botany, Zoology shall be replaced by a Scientific Information Service Biology in 2015. The Frankfurt University Library submitted a funding application for this transition.

platzhalter
NEWS

vifabio at 10
» more

FID Biodiversity
is starting
» more

Project of:
UBFfm
Funded by:
DFG

Bild
vifabio » Über vifabio » Sondersammelgebiet

Sondersammelgebiet

Die Universitätsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg in Frankfurt am Main betreut das Sondersammelgebiet Biologie, Botanik, Zoologie. Sie erwirbt die forschungsrelevante Literatur weltweit. Insgesamt werden über 3.500 fachlich relevante Zeitschriften laufend gehalten und fast ebenso viele Monographien jährlich gekauft.

Das System der DFG-geförderten Sondersammelgebiete (SSG) stellt die überregionale Informationsversorgung mit wissenschaftlicher Literatur sicher. Das noch heute gültige Prinzip der kooperativen Erwerbung und Bereitstellung wurde in Reaktion auf die Finanznot der Bibliotheken nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg mit den ersten Beschaffungsrichtlinien 1949 festgelegt.

Zum Teil reichen die fachlichen Spezialisierungen auch noch weiter zurück. Die Senckenbergische Bibliothek, eine der beiden Vorläuferbibliotheken der UB Frankfurt, beherbergte bereits in der Zeit der Weimarer Republik das Sondersammelgebiet "Beschreibende Naturwissenschaften".

Das fachübergreifende System der SSG-Bibliotheken soll in den nächsten Jahren nach den Vorstellungen der DFG in ein neues System von sogenannten Fachinformationsdiensten (FID) umgewandelt werden. Für das Jahr 2015 ist die Ablösung des Sondersammelgebietes Biologie, Botanik, Zoologie durch einen "Fachinformationsdienst Biologie" (FID Biologie) vorgesehen. Die UB Frankfurt hat einen entsprechenden Förderantrag bei der DFG gestellt.

platzhalter
AKTUELLES

10 Jahre online
» mehr

FID Biodiversität startet
» mehr

Projekt von:
UBFfm
Gefördert durch:
DFG