Bild
vifabio » About vifabio » BioDDC

BioDDC in the Virtual Library of Biology: an introduction

What is BioDDC?

BioDDC is a system for the subject indexing of biological publications (books, articles, internet resources, etc.). By assigning BioDCC numbers, individual publications can be allocated to the various sub-areas and topics of biology. By this means, targeted thematic researches are made possible, i.e. the finding of publications dealing with a particular sub-area or topic (thematic browsing). In addition, with the inclusion of content relevant bilingual keywords the probability of finding publications via keyword-based retrieval is increased.

The system is based on the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC; Copyright belongs to OCLC; cf. also the German edition as well as the introduction to DCC as a presentation (620 KiB) (in German only)).
Don't miss the Dewey Decimal Rap on YouTube.

The structure of the system

BioDCC is a so-called classification system. The whole of biology is progressively divided into sub-areas. The system constitutes a tree structure (Topic tree). The individual sub-areas are each characterised by numbers (notations) and names (captions), for example 572 = Biochemistry.

The first step divides biology into three areas:

  • 570 = Biology (not especially botanical or zoological topics),
  • 580 = Plants, and
  • 590 = Animals.

In the subsequent steps smaller divisions are made, e.g. 570 includes, amongst other things, 572 = Biochemistry and 577 = Ecology. 577.3 = Forest ecology and 577.7 = Marine ecology belong, for example, to the topic 577. The longer a number, the more specialised the topic described. Altogether, about 400 biological categories are in use. A general overview exists both as hierarchic tables, and alphabetised term indexes; both are contained in the PDF version of this introduction (350 KiB).

In hit lists and catalogues in vifabio the numbers are not shown but only the corresponding verbal description. The browsing function of the Internet Guide enables browsing in the BioDCC tree structure under "Subject" and "Spatial coverage".

Multiple numbers are assigned for publications that cover multiple sub-areas. In addition to the biological topic numbers, geographical numbers may also be assigned that, if necessary, describe the reference area of a publication. By this method, publications are often found through different paths.

Special features of the structure

The most important sub-headings of 570 = Biology are the sections physiology, biochemistry, genetics, evolution, and ecology; 579 = Microorganisms, fungi, algae are also found here.

Botanical topics can be filed under 580 = Plants (if they concern the plant as a complete entity) as well as in the various sub-headings of 570 (e.g. 575 = Specific parts of and physiological systems in plants, and there, for example, 575.4 = Stems). The same applies to zoological topics in 590 and 570.

Resources concerning taxonomically defined groups of organisms (e.g. bacteria, ungulates, gymnosperms, Rosidae, ...) are to be found in the Internet Guide under the category "Natural history of specific kinds of organisms".

Sub-areas and topics, that are strongly application oriented or include aspects not related to natural history, are classified with numbers from areas other than 570/580/590, often in combination with additional numbers from 570/580/590:

  • Greenhouse effect (under 363.7 = Environmental problems), or
  • Genetically manipulated, useful plants (under 660.6 = Biotechnology).

Further information

Tabulated overviews of the system, as well as an alphabetic term index are also contained in the PDF version of this introduction (350 KiB).

It is anticipated that the edited Version 2.0 of BioDDC will be available in 2009.

If you need help with special searches or wish to have further information about BioDCC, please ask us!

platzhalter
NEWS

Licence for
"Global Plants"
» more

vifabio at 10
» more

FID Biodiversity
is starting
» more

Project of:
UBFfm
Funded by:
DFG

Bild
vifabio » Über vifabio » BioDDC

BioDDC in der vifabio: eine Einführung

Was ist BioDDC?

BioDDC ist ein System zur inhaltlichen Beschreibung biologischer Publikationen (Bücher, Artikel, Internet-Ressourcen etc). Durch Vergabe von BioDDC-Notationen können die einzelnen Publikationen den verschiedenen Teilgebieten und Themen der Biologie zugeordnet werden. Hierdurch werden gezielte thematische Recherchen ermöglicht, d. h. das Auffinden von Publikationen zu einem bestimmten Teilgebiet oder Thema (Thematisches Blättern). Darüber hinaus wird durch die Anreicherung mit inhaltsrelevanten bilingualen Stichwörtern die Auffindbarkeit von Publikationen bei der Recherche mit Suchbegriffen erhöht.

Das System basiert auf der international verbreiteten Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC; Copyright: Fa. OCLC; vgl. auch die deutsche Ausgabe sowie Einführung in DDC als Präsentation (620 KiB)).
Für den schnellen Einstieg: Dewey Decimal Rap on YouTube.

Aufbau des Systems

Bei BioDDC handelt es sich um ein sogenanntes Klassifikationssystem. Die gesamte Biologie wird fortschreitend in Teilgebiete untergliedert. Das System stellt eine Baumstruktur dar ("Themenbaum"). Die einzelnen Teilgebiete sind jeweils durch Nummern ("Notationen") und Namen gekennzeichnet, beispielsweise 572 = Biochemie.

Im ersten Schritt erfolgt eine Untergliederung der Biologie in drei Gebiete:

  • 570 = Allgemeine Biologie (nicht speziell botanische oder zoologische Themen),
  • 580 = Botanik, und
  • 590 = Zoologie.

In den folgenden Schritten wird feiner untergliedert, z. B. umfasst 570 unter anderem 572 = Biochemie und 577 = Ökologie. Zu letzterer gehören beispielsweise 577.3 = Waldökologie und 577.7 = Meeresökologie. Je länger eine Notation ist, desto spezieller ist das betreffende Thema. Insgesamt werden ungefähr 400 biologische Kategorien gebildet. Eine Gesamtübersicht existiert sowohl in Form hierarchischer Tabellen als auch in Form eines alphabetischen Begriffsregisters; beides ist in der PDF-Fassung dieser Einführung enthalten (110 KiB).

In Trefferlisten und Katalogen werden in der vifabio die Nummern nicht mit angezeigt, sondern nur die entsprechenden verbalen Bezeichnungen. Die Browsing-Funktionen des Internetquellen-Führers ermöglichen unter "Thema" und "Geographischer Bezug" ein Blättern durch die BioDDC-Baumstruktur.

Bei Publikationen, die mehrere Teilgebiete bzw. Themen betreffen, werden mehrere Notationen vergeben. Zusätzlich zu den biologischen Themennotationen können auch noch geographische Notationen vergeben werden, die gegebenenfalls das Bezugsgebiet einer Publikation umschreiben. Dadurch sind Publikationen oftmals auf verschiedenen Pfaden auffindbar.

Besonderheiten der Gliederung

Die wichtigsten Untergliederungen von 570 = Biologie sind die Teilgebiete Physiologie, Biochemie, Genetik, Evolution und Ökologie; auch 579 = Mikrobiologie ist hier eingeordnet.

Botanische Themen können sowohl in 580 eingeordnet sein (wenn sie Pflanzen als Gesamtorganismus betreffen), als auch in verschiedenen Untergliederungen von 570 (z. B. 575 = Einzelne Teile von und physiologische Systeme bei Pflanzen, dort dann zum Beispiel 575.4 = Stängel und Stämme). Entsprechendes gilt für zoologische Themen in 590 bzw. 570.

Ressourcen über taxonomisch definierte Organismengruppen (z. B. Bakterien, Huftiere, Nacktsamer, Rosenähnliche, ...) sind im Internetquellen-Führer unter der Kategorie "Naturgeschichte einzelner Organismengruppen" zu finden.

Teilgebiete und Themen, die stark anwendungsbezogen sind oder die nicht naturwissenschaftliche Aspekte mit einbeziehen, werden mit Notationen aus Bereichen außerhalb von 570/580/590 klassifiziert, oft in Kombination mit Notationen aus 570/580/590. Das könnten beispielsweise sein:

  • Treibhauseffekt (unter 363.7 = Umweltprobleme), oder
  • Gentechnisch veränderte Nutzpflanzen (unter 660.6 = Biotechnologie).

Weiterführende Informationen

Tabellarische Übersichten des Systems sowie ein alphabetisches Begriffsregister sind auch in der PDF-Fassung dieser Einführung enthalten (110 KiB).

Voraussichtlich im Frühjahr 2009 wird die überarbeitete Version 2.0 von BioDDC zur Verfügung stehen.

Wenn Sie Hilfe bei spezielleren Recherchen benötigen oder weiterführende Informationen zu BioDDC wünschen, fragen Sie uns!

platzhalter
AKTUELLES

FID Biodiversität geplant
» mehr

Projekt von:
UBFfm
Gefördert durch:
DFG